Fri., Dec 14, 2018  




Former Brew Tech star Webb named Miss Basketball for 2013

(April 4, 2013)

Wenonah’s De’Runnya Wilson was selected the 29th Mr. Basketball while Hoover’s Marqu’es Webb was named the 26th Miss Basketball by the Alabama Sports Writers Association on Thursday. The Mr. Basketball award was started in 1985 while Miss Basketball began in 1988.

The two were announced at the annual ASWA Player of the Year Luncheon in Montgomery. The luncheon was sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

Webb and Wilson closed out their prep careers in almost identical fashion with three consecutive state championships and MVP efforts in the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Basketball Classic.

A Montgomery native who played her first two years of prep basketball at Brewbaker Tech, Webb set numerous rebound records in her six Final 48 games played. She had 30 rebounds as a sophomore in the 4A finals as she led Brewbaker Tech to the state title. After moving to Hoover as a junior, she helped the Bucs win the 6A state championship in 2012 and 2013 as a senior.

She also closed out her career with back-to-back 20-rebound plus efforts and finished with a state-tournament record 108 rebounds – an average of 18.0 per game. The 21 boards in the 2013 finals was the fourth in her career at the Final 48. She was also 10-of-12 from the field, 9-of-12 at the foul line and had one blocked shot to earn Class 6A Tourney MVP.

Wilson helped Wenonah become the first Class 5A school in AHSAA history to win three straight state crowns. The Mississippi State football and basketball signee was also named the ASWA’s Class 5A Boys Player of the Year. He led Wenonah wins 5A state titles in 2011, 2012 and 2013. The 6-foot-6 forward averaged 18.4 points and 15.8 rebounds a game. Wilson scored 1,788 points and grabbed 1,671 rebounds in his career.

Webb, who was chosen the ASWA’s Class 6A Player of the Year, is a Vanderbilt signee. She averaged 15.1 points and 11 rebounds a game while leading the Bucs to their second straight Class 6A championship. The 6-foot-1 Webb scored 1,716 points and grabbed 1,591 rebounds in her career.
Named to the girls Super Five with Class 6A Player of the Year Webb are Faith Academy’s Jasmine Rhodes, Class 5A Player of the Year Shakayla Thomas of Sylacauga, Sparkman’s Alexis Jennings and Shades Valley’s Morgan William.

Class 5A Player of the Year Wilson leads the boys Super Five and is joined by Class 3A Player of the Year Joshua Langford of Madison Academy, Class 6A Player of the Year Lewis Sullivan of Hazel Green, Carver-Montgomery’s Jeremy Johnson and Wenonah’s Justin Coleman. Johnson, an Auburn signee, was selected 2012 Mr. Football by the ASWA.

Alabama Sports Writers Association Super 5

De’Runnya Wilson, Wenonah, Sr., Forward
Joshua Langford, Madison Academy, Fr., Forward
Lewis Sullivan, Hazel Green, Jr., Forward
Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, Sr., Forward
Justin Coleman, Wenonah, Jr., Guard
Marqu’es Webb, Hoover, Sr., Center
Jasmine Rhodes, Faith Academy, Sr., Guard
Shakayla Thomas, Sylacauga, Jr., Forward
Alexis Jennings, Sparkman, Sr., Guard
Morgan William, Shades Valley, Jr., Guard

Alabama Sports Writers Association
2013 AHSAA Players of the Year (by classification)

Class 6A - Lewis Sullivan, Hazel Green, Jr., Forward
Class 5A - De’Runnya Wilson, Wenonah, Sr., Forward
Class 4A - William Lee, Dallas County, Jr., Center
Class 3A - Joshua Langford, Madison Academy, Fr., Forward
Class 2A - Alex Thompson, Houston Academy, Sr., Guard
Class 1A - Wesley Person Jr., Brantley, Jr., Guard
Class 6A - Marqu’es Webb, Hoover, Sr., Center
Class 5A - Shakayla Thomas, Sylacauga, Jr., Forward
Class 4A - Destiney Elliott, Oneonta, Jr., Forward
Class 3A - Daneshia Malone, Clements, Sr., Center
Class 2A - Kristen Emerson, Prattville Christian, Sr., Forward
Class 1A - Anna Claire Noblit, Covenant Christian, Sr., Guard

Mr. Basketball Recipients (Year-by-Year)
2013 - De’Runnya Wilson, Wenonah
2012 - Craig Sword, Carver-Montgomery
2011 - Trevor Lacey, Butler
2010 - Trevor Lacey, Butler
2009 - Kerron Johnson, Madison Academy
2008 - JaMychal Green, St. Jude
2007 - Courtney Fortson, Jeff Davis
2006 - Stanley Robinson, Huffman
2005 - Richard Hendrix, Athens
2004 - Ronald Steele, John Carroll
2003 - Ronald Steele, John Carroll
2002 - Kennedy Winston, Blount
2001 - Chris White, Grissom
2000 - Gerald Wallace, Childersburg
1999 - Marvin Stone, Grissom
1998 - Sam Haginas, UMS-Wright
1997 - Anthony Williams, Loachapoka
1996 - Isaac Spencer, Jeff Davis
1995 - Brian Williams, Jeff Davis
1994 - Rod Willie, Lee-Huntsville
1993 - Howard Pride, Butler
1992 - Darryl Wilson, South Lamar
1991 - Victor Newman, Houston Academy
1990 - Cedric Moore, Woodlawn
1989 - Queintonia Higgins, Fairhope
1988 - Terrance Lewis, Ramsay
1987 - Bryant Lancaster, Valley
1986 - Larry Rembert, Keith
1985 - Vincent Robinson, Bridgeport

Miss. Basketball Recipients (Year-by-Year)
2013 - Marqu’es Webb, Hoover
2012 - Jasmine Jones, Bob Jones
2011 - Hayden Hamby, West Morgan
2010 - Kaneisha Horn, Ramsay
2009 - Jala Harris, Bob Jones
2008 - Courtney Jones, Midfield
2007 - Katherine Graham, Ramsay
2006 - Shanavia Dowdell, Calera
2005 - Whitney Boddie, Florence
2004 - Starr Orr, Speake
2003 - Sidney Spencer, Hoover
2002 - Kate Mastin, Boaz
2001 - Donyel Wheeler, Huffman
2000 - Natasha Thomas, Lawrence County
1999 - Tasheika Morris, Butler
1998 - Gwen Jackson, Eufaula
1997 - April Nance, Butler
1996 - Nicole Carruth, Sulligent
1995 - Heather Mayes, Fyffe
1994 - Pam Duncan, Carrollton
1993 - Leah Monteith, Cherokee County
1992 - Yolanda Watkins, Decatur
1991 - Tonya Tice, Hamilton
1990 - Karen Killen, Mars Hill Bible
1989 - Leslie Claybrook, St. James
1988 - Jeaniece Slater, Hartselle

Bookmark and Share
Latest Updates
Adams Drugs
CAMELLIA BOWL: Former Mumford star Garrett grows into role at Eastern Michigan
CAMELLIA BOWL NOTES: Ga. Southern roster has local flavor
Evangel boys basketball off to fast start
RRS NOTES: Teams arrive for Camellia Bowl; Lovrich signs with Jax State
Amerson, Person lead All-Capital City Conference teams
RRS NOTES: Autauga Academy closes out season with win; Bright signs with Auburn
Super 7 opens with battle of elite quarterbacks
PRESS PICKS: Abbreviated list includes Super 7
Camellia Bowl tabs Eastern Michigan, Georgia Southern
SEC CHAMPIONSHIP: Hurts has last laugh in Tide win over Georgia

What's Happening
SportsTalk -RIVER REGION SPORTS, 1300 WTLS/106.5 FM, 12-2 p.m. (click to listen)
CBSK - Faulkner (w/m) at Loyola (N.O.), 5:30 p.m.
CFB - Raycom Camellia Bowl: Eastern Mich vs Ga Southern, 4:30 p.m. (ESPN)
MBSK - UAB vs Auburn, 6:30 p.m. (Birmingham - CBS Sports Net)
MBSK - Alabama St at Utah St, 8 p.m.
CBSK - AUM (w/m) at Christian Bros (Tenn), 12 p.m.
WBSK - Miss Unv Women at Huntingdon, 2 p.m.
MBSK - Troy at Western Ky, 2 p.m.
CBSK - Faulkner (w/m) at Wm Carey, 2 p.m.
WBSK - Northwestern St at Alabama, 2 p.m.
WBSK - Samford at Auburn, 2 p.m.
WBSK - UAB at Alabama St, 3 p.m.
BBSK - AHSAA Boys Week 6 schedule (click)
GBSK - AHSAA Girls Week 6 schedule (click)


Untitled Document