Tue., Jul 17, 2018  





Baynes, Crawford among POY finalists

Tallassee running back Brandon Baynes is one of several players from the River Region who are finalists for Player of the Year awards. (Staff Photo)

Combined Reports
(January 13, 2015)

The Alabama Sports Writers Association will announce the 2014 Mr. Football recipient at its annual Mr. Football/Player of the Year luncheon Wednesday at the Montgomery Activity Center. The Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA) sponsors the luncheon.

For the first time in the award’s 33-year history, a total of 48 players will be in the running – three backs and three linemen in each of the seven ASWA classifications and one division for AISA schools. Oxford running back Racean “Roc” Thomas, now a freshman at Auburn University, was named Mr. Football in 2013.

A Back and Lineman of the Year in each classification will be announced from the finalists with Mr. Football being selected from those recipients.

Charles Henderson linebacker Richard McBryde and Dale County linebacker/running back Jamarius Henderson are both in the mix after becoming winners of the Class 4A Lineman and Class 3A Back of the Year, respectively, last season.

McBryde is a lineman finalist in Class 5A and Henderson, who set the state single-season rushing record with 3,483 yards in 2014, is listed as a 3A lineman finalist. He also played linebacker for the Warriors recording 182 stops in 15 games this season.

Also among the finalists are Super 7 state finals MVPs: quarterback Tyrell Pigrom, Clay-Chalkville (6A); running back Ostin McPherson, St. Paul’s Episcopal; running back Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy (3A); and running back Austin Stiefel, Fyffe (2A).

The 48 finalists for back or lineman of the year in their classes are also finalists for the state’s Mr. Football award, which will be presented at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year Luncheon in Montgomery on Jan. 14, 2015. The award is sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.

The AISA also will announce the winners of the top back and top lineman on Wednesday.

2014 ASWA Player of the Year Finalists (River Region players in italics)


Maceo Booker, RB, James Clemens
Grey Jackson, QB, Fairhope
Traveon Samuel, Athlete, Central-Phenix City

R.J. Arnold, LB, Hoover
Kenny Thomas, OL, Prattville
Darrell Williams, LB, Hoover


Keith Mixon, Athlete, Shades Valley
Ty Pigrome, QB, Clay-Chalkville
Chris Weaver, Athlete,Saraland

Keaton Anderson, LB, Florence
Tyler Carr, OL, Southside-Gadsden
Darryl Williams, OL, Bessemer City


Brandon Baynes, RB, Tallassee
Ostin McPherson, RB, St. Paul’s
ShaKeith Tyes, RB, Calera

Lester Cotton, OL, Central-Tuscaloosa
Richard McBryde, LB, Charles Henderson
A.J. Smoot, DL, Dora


Troy Dixon, RB, UMS-Wright
Octavius Matthews, Athlete, North Jackson
Kyle Nalls, RB, Fayette Co.

Riley Cole, LB, Oneonta
Anfernee Jennings, DL, Dadeville
Josephus Smith, DL, Leeds


Kerryon Johnson, RB, Madison Academy
Thomas Ozmint, RB, Glencoe
Zack Simbeck, Athlete, Lauderdale Co.

Mason Brown, LB, Glencoe
Jamarius Henderson, Athlete, Dale Co
Jeffery Whatley, DL, Dale Co.


Peyton Gilliland, QB, Cleveland
DeAnthony Holcombe, RB, Washington Co.
Austin Stiefel, RB, Fyffe

Deshon Kilpatrick, OL, Sweet Water
Austin Lewter, OL, Tanner
Dakota Newsome, LB, Fyffe

Kendarius Bradley, DB, Maplesville
Tyler Crumpton, WR, Phillips
Chandler Rigdon, Athlete, Chickasaw

Tyler Armstrong, LB, Maplesville
Jake Mintz, OL, Cedar Bluff
Justin Foster, DL, Donoho


Josh Crawford, RB, Edgewood Academy
PJ Garrett, QB, Bessemer Academy
Eric Graham, RB, Autauga Academy

Trey Carter, OL, Monroe Academy
Tim Collins, DL, Restoration
Garrett Kirk, DL, Escambia Academy

Bookmark and Share
Latest Updates
Adams Drugs
SEC MEDIA DAYS '18: Fisher ready to take A&M to new heights
ALL-STAR WEEK: Catholic runner could be state's best
SEC Media Days '18 has change of scenery
BATTING CAGES UPDATE: City rethinks closing, decides to relocate cages
Cramton Bowl schedule opens with All-Star game
Days are numbered for popular Lagoon Park batting cages
Bright's future looks good for Trinity
NOTES: Chavers adds another All-American award; Lee HS golf tourney set
INDEPENDENCE DAY - We choose Liberty!
Former Tide star Zow talks ups and downs of quarterback battles

What's Happening
SportsTalk -RIVER REGION SPORTS, 1300 WTLS/106.5 FM, 12-2 p.m. (click to listen)
CFB - SEC Media Days: Atlanta (Alabama/ Missouri/ Miss St/ Tennessee)
HS - Alabama All-Star Sports Week (click for info)
HSXC - All-Star Week Cross County (g/b), 7:30 a.m. (AUM)
HSBB - All-Star Week North-South (g/b), 5/7 p.m. (ASU Acadome)
SLBASE - Mississippi (Braves) at Biscuits, 6:30 p.m.
CFB - SEC Media Days: Atlanta (Auburn/ South Carolina/ Vanderbilt)
HS - Alabama All-Star Sports Week (click for info)
HSFB - All-Star Week North-South, 7 p.m. (Cramton Bowl)
HSVB - All-Star Week North-South, 4 p.m. (AUM)
SLBASE - Mississippi (Braves) at Biscuits, 6:30 p.m.
HS - Alabama All-Star Sports Week (click for info)
SLBASE - Mississippi (Braves) at Biscuits, 6:30 p.m.


Untitled Document