Thu., Nov 23, 2017  





Former Autauga Academy star Howard named to Maxwell list

Former Autauga Academy star O.J. Howard was one of eight in-state players named to the Maxwell Award List on Tuesday. (Photo courtesy Unv Alabama Athletic Dept.)

Staff Report
(July 6, 2016)

O.J. Howard was among eight in-state players named to the first preseason watch lists released on Tuesday by the Maxwell Football Club.

The former Autauga Academy standout, along with teammate Calvin Ridley, were two of the nine Southeastern Conference players on the preseason list for the 80th annual Maxwell Award, presented to the nation’s top collegiate player since 1937.

Former Crimson Tide tailback Derrick Henry captured the 2015 Maxwell Award.

Howard, one of 40 seniors on the watch list, earned offensive Most Valuable Player honors in the College Football Playoff National Championship Game last January against Clemson.

Ridley, one of 15 sophomores on the preseason list, led the Tide in receiving last year.

Other SEC players on the list include Georgia tailback Nick Chubb, Tennessee quarterback Joshua Dobbs and tailback Jalen Hurd, LSU tailback Leonard Fournette, Ole Miss quarterback Chad Kelly and Texas A&M quarterback Trevor Knight (a transfer from Oklahoma) and receiver Christian Kirk.

Also on the list is Appalachian State tailback Marcus Cox, who led his team to its first bowl appearance and a victory over Ohio in the Camellia Bowl, earning Most Valuable Player honors in the process.

Four Alabama players and a pair of Auburn players are among the 90 players on the 22nd annual Bednarik Award, presented to the nation’s top defensive player since 1995.

Alabama was the only school with four selections, led by senior safety Eddie Jackson, the defensive Most Valuable Player in the College Football Playoff National Championship Game. Fellow senior Jonathan Allen, a defensive lineman, and linebackers Reuben Foster and Tim Williams also made the list.

Auburn senior defensive back Johnathan Ford and junior defensive end Carl Lawson made the list as well, along with 18 other SEC players that make up a group of 53 seniors, 33 juniors and four sophomores.

Tyler Matakevich of Temple won the Bednarik Award in 2015.

Other SEC players on the list include safety Jamal Adams, cornerback Tre’Darious White and linebacker Kendell Beckwith of LSU; defensive end Derek Barnett, linebacker Jalen Reeves-Maybin and cornerback Cameron Sutton of Tennessee; Georgia safety Dominick Sanders; safety Tony Conner and defensive end Marquis Haynes of Ole Miss; Arkansas defensive end Deatrich Wise; linebacker Jarrad Davis, safety Marcus Maye and cornerback Jalen Tabor of Florida; Missouri defensive end Charles Harris; defensive ends Myles Garrett and Daeshon Hall of Texas A&M, along with safety Armani Watts; and Vanderbilt linebacker Zach Cunningham.

The Maxwell and Bednarik awards are the first of a 12-day slate of preseason watch lists released by the National College Football Awards Association. On Wednesday, Howard is expected to be among those on the Mackey Award watch list as the nation’s top collegiate tight end. The watch list for the Rimington Trophy will be released as well.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik awards will be announced Oct. 31, 2016, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 21. The winners will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8.


Bookmark and Share
Latest Updates
Adams Drugs
PRESS PICKS: Lead tightens as Rivalry Week arrives
PLAYOFF RECAP: Wetumpka, ACA advance; Escambia stuns Autauga Academy
Catholic's Ryan making nice adjustment to new position
PREP CAPSULES: Nine advance to second round; Autauga Academy looks for another title
PRESS PICKS: Prep playoff games highlight big week
Former Trinity coach Ragsdale to be inducted in 2018 HOF class
PREP PLAYOFF RECAP: Tallassee wins in OT; ACA, Carver advance with road wins
Adams brothers lift Wetumpka defense
THURSDAY PREPS: Lanier advances with comeback win over Paul Bryant
Former JD star Walker waiting for debut with Crimson Tide

What's Happening
SportsTalk -RIVER REGION SPORTS, 1300 WTLS/106.5 FM, 12-2 p.m. (click to listen)
CFB - Turkey Day Classic: Edward Waters at Alabama St., 2 p.m.
WBB - Alabama vs N.C. State, 1:30 p.m. (Ft Lauderdale, Fla.)
HSFB - 4A Qtrs.: Andalusia at Alabama Christian, 7 p.m.
HSFB - 6A Qtrs: Spanish Fort at Wetumpka, 7 p.m.
CFB - Texas St at Troy, 3 p.m.
MBB - Alabama vs BYU, 1:30 p.m. (Brooklyn, NY - WTLS 106.5 FM)
MBB - Winthrop at Auburn, 6 p.m. (SEC Network)
MBB - AUM at Embry-Riddle, 7 p.m.
WBB - Alabama vs Elon, 4 p.m. (Ft Lauderdale, Fla.)
WBB - Auburn vs Georgetown, 7:30 p.m. (Nashville)
WBB - Alabama St vs Stephen F Austin, 8 p.m.
CFB - Alabama at Auburn, 2:30 p.m. (WTLS 106.5 FM/CBS)
MBB - Alabama vs Minnesota, 4 p.m. (Brooklyn, NY - Facebook Live)
MBB - AUM vs Wingate or West Alabama, 5 p.m. (Daytona Beach, Fla.)
MBB - Pensacola Christian at Faulkner, 12 p.m.
WBB - Auburn vs Northwestern, 5 p.m. (Nashville)
WBB - Alabama St at Southern Miss, 4 p.m.
WBB - Fisk at Faulkner, 2 p.m.
WBB - Huntingdon vs Lousiana College, 1 p.m.
High School
HSBB - AHSAA Weekly Schedule (Boys - click)
HSBB - AHSAA Weekly Schedule (Girls -click)


Untitled Document